What is FET?

Further Education and Training or FET offers a wide variety of life-long education options to anyone over 16. FET includes apprenticeships, traineeships, Post Leaving Cert (PLC) courses, community and adult education as well as core literacy and numeracy services.  

FET courses and programmes are provided through the Education and Training Board network throughout the country as well as through other local providers, including online through SOLAS’ eCollege. FET courses are provided at Levels One to Six on the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ). 

PLCs (FET Level 5 and 6 Courses)

Whether you want to prepare for a specific career or find pathways to reach your potential, you can explore local FET Level 5 and 6 courses to find an option that’s right for you.  

Also known as Post Leaving Certificate (PLC) courses, FET Level 5 and 6 are full-time courses, usually running for one year, awarding Level 5 or 6 qualifications on the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ).  

Courses offer flexible, vocational learning for school leavers, including practical skills training and options for work experience, preparing learners for direct entry into in-demand jobs that are emerging and growing in the economy. 

FET courses and programmes are provided through the Education and Training Board network across the country, providing learners with great local opportunities for achieving their career ambitions. 

Not only is FET a smart choice in its own right, it can also be a pathway to degree courses, with many benefitting from using the year as a means to explore a subject before committing fully to a four-year course. 

Apply for FET Level 5 and 6 courses today through fetchcourses.ie


An apprenticeship allows you to earn money and become qualified while you learn on-the-job, opening up exciting and rewarding careers. 

Undertaking an apprenticeship is a fantastic way to get started in a career, combining learning in an education and training institution with work-based learning in a company, leading to a qualification which is on the National Framework of Qualifications (Level 5 up to 10). 

Apprentices have an employment contract and are paid a salary for the duration of their apprenticeship training, which can last between two and four years. 

Apprenticeship programmes are available across a broad range of industries including finance, ICT, biopharma, construction, engineering, hospitality and arboriculture. 

How do I become and apprentice? 

To become an apprentice you will need to be hired by a SOLAS approved employer. Visit our Apprenticeship Jobs page to check out employers who are currently seeking apprentices. 

Find out more at apprenticeship.ie

Guidance in Further Education and Training

Information and Guidance Services in the Further Education and Training (FET) sector provide impartial careers and education information, one-to-one guidance and group guidance, which help people to make informed educational, career and life choices. FET Information and Guidance Services are provided to adults aged 18 years and over, and those over 16 who have left school early who are interested in or participating in programmes on the National Framework of Qualifications Levels 1 – 6.

For more guidance on FET, visit the FET Guidance page from ETBI or email FETGuidance@etbi.ie 

Find out more at fetchcourses.ie and apprenticeship.ie